Illinois Misdemeanor Lawyer  
  Home   DUI Cases   Criminal Cases   License Suspension   Courts   Fees   Contact

Illinois Misdemeanor Law

In Illinois, misdemeanors come in three classes and are punishable by up to a year in jail.

  • Class A misdemeanors

    Sentences can include up to 364 days in jail for the following charges:

    Aggravated Assault 720 ILCS 5/12-2
    Battery 720 ILCS 5/12-3
    Domestic Battery 720 ILCS 5/12-3.2
    Criminal Damage To Property 720 ILCS 5/21-1
    Criminal Defacement to Property 720 ILCS 5/21-1.3
    Criminal Sexual Abuse 720 ILCS 5/12-15
    Criminal Trespass to Residence 720 ILCS 5/19-4
    Criminal Trespass to Vehicles 720 ILCS 5/21-2
    Deceptive Practices 720 ILCS 5/17-1
    Endangering the Life or Health of a Child 720 ILCS 5/12-21.6
    Interfering With the Reporting of Domestic Violence 720 ILCS 5/12-6.3
    Obscenity 720 ILCS 5/11-20
    Patronizing a Prostitute 720 ILCS 5/11-18
    Possession of Cannabis (more than 10 grams but not more than 30 grams) 720 ILCS 550/4
    Possession of Drug Paraphernalia 720 ILCS 600/3
    Possession of Hypodermic Needles 720 ILCS 635/4
    Prostitution 720 ILCS 5/11-14
    Public Indecency 720 ILCS 5/11-9
    Reckless Conduct 720 ILCS 5/12-5
    Resisting or Obstructing a Police Officer 720 ILCS 5/31-1
    Retail Theft 720 ILCS 5/16A-3
    Solicitation for a Prostitute 720 ILCS 5/11-15
    Theft 720 ILCS 5/16-1, 720 ILCS 5/16-3
    Violation of an Order of Protection 720 ILCS 5/12-30


  • Class B misdemeanors

    Sentences can include up to 180 days in jail for the following charges:

    Criminal Trespass to Property 720 ILCS 5/21-3
    Harassment by Telephone 720 ILCS 135-1-1
    Possession of Cannabis (more than 2.5 grams but not more than 10 grams) 720 ILCS 550/4


  • Class C misdemeanors

    Sentences can include up to 30 days in jail for the following charges:

    Assault 720 ILCS 5/12-1
    Disorderly Conduct 720 ILCS 5/26-1
    Possession of Cannabis (mot more than 2.5 grams) 720 ILCS 550/4


    I represent individuals who have been arrested and charged with midemeanors in the following counties: Cook, DuPage, Lake and Will. For a free review of your case, please fill out the form on the right or call 312-909-0706.

    Additional information on Illinois felony law and DUI/DWI law.

  •  

     

     

     

     

    legal | privacy | resources

    Free Case Consultation
    (no cost, no obligation)

    phone: 312-909-0706, or form below:
     Name
     Phone
     Email

     What offense were you charged with
     
     Other Information

     Disclaimers
    I undestand that submitting this form does not create an attorney client relationship
    Yes No